Rowland Foundation


Board of Trustees

Heidi Lynn
Heidi Rowland Lynn, Chair
Dorset, VT
James Mooney
James C. Mooney
Keene Valley, NY
Carter Rawson
Carter Rawson
Dorset, VT
Dan Rowland
Daniel B. Rowland
Lexington, KY
Chuck Scranton
Charles W. Scranton
South Londonderry, VT
John Shepard
John A. Shepard, Jr.
Niskayuna, NY
Caitlin Steele
Caitlin Steele
Bristol, VT
Erica Wallstrom
Erica Wallstrom
Rutland, VT
Wendy Rowland
Wendy G. Rowland
In Memoriam 1936-2019

Barry Rowland
Barry Rowland
In Memoriam 1935-2018

Members of the Board of Trustees and officers of the foundation and their families
are not eligible to receive grants from the foundation.

Charles W. Scranton, Executive Director

Chuck Scranton spent 35 years in schools, 28 of which were in school leadership. From 1993-2008 he was the Headmaster of Burr and Burton Academy in Manchester and taught in the English and history departments. He served on the Executive Committee of the Vermont Independent School Association and the Board of Directors of the Independent School Association of Northern New England. Chuck received his B.S. in Economics from Wagner College and his Masters in Education from Rutgers University.

Chuck Scranton's 2013 TEDx talk, "The Immovable Mountain"

Chuck Scranton

Margie J. Malko, Administrative Assistant

Prior to her becoming a senior executive administrative assistant at a Fortune 500 company, Marge was an adjunct faculty member at Raritan Valley Community College (N.J.) and a high school and middle school teacher. Marge received her B.S. in education from Rider University.

Margie J. Malko

Senior Rowland Associates

Mike Martin Senior Rowland Associates work closely with the Executive Director to further the mission of the Foundation, to spread awareness of its work and to assist in strategic planning. They are now part of the selection process. Jean Berthiaume The current Senior Rowland Associates, Mike Martin (left) formerly of Champlain Valley Union High School and now the Director of Learning for the South Burlington School District; and Jean Berthiaume (right), formerly at Harwood Union High School and principal at Fayston Elementary School has been appointed Co-Principal at Winooski Middle/High School. Both are 2009 Rowland Fellows.

Lauren Parren Associate for Social Media
Lauren Parren

Lauren, a 2012 Rowland Fellow formerly from Mt. Abraham Union Middle/High School and South Burlington High School, continues as Associate for Social Media with The Rowland Foundation.


© The Rowland Foundation All Rights Reserved