Rowland Foundation

Rowland Fellows - Where Are They Now?

While the majority of our Fellows remain in the classroom and continue to serve as teacher-leaders in their respective schools, some have taken new positions or moved into different ventures. They are:

Jessica Barewicz, 2014 Fellow from U32 Union High School has been appointed to the position of Principal of Mt. Abraham Union High School in 2016.

Jean Berthiaume, 2009 Fellow and Senior Rowland Associate, formerly a social studies teacher at Harwood Union High School and assistant principal at Harwood Union High School, is now the principal of Fayston Elementary School.

Richard Boisseau, 2010 Fellow and formerly an administrator at St. Johnsbury Academy, has retired and currently serves on the St. Johnsbury school board.

Alison Moncrief Bromage, 2012 Fellow and teacher/administrator at Vermont Adult Learning has moved to Connecticut with her family where she continues to work in a part-time capacity on her adult learning initiative in Vermont.

Jason Cushner, 2013 Fellow and formerly Program Coordinator for Big Picture South Burlington is now living in Colorado and is a member of the local School Board.

Matt DeBlois, 2009 Fellow from Vergennes Union High School, assumed the role of Principal of Vergennes Elementary School in 2016.

Jessica DeCarolis, 2009 Fellow and former teacher at Fair Haven Union High School has moved to New York City where she is an Education Specialist at Reel Works Teen Filmmaking, a non-profit extended-day program that serves at risk youth.

Jason Finley, 2009 Fellow and former External Learning Coordinator at Otter Valley Union High School currently works at Randolph Technical Career Center as Cooperative Ed Coordinator.

Gabe Hamilton, 2015 Rowland Fellow, Mt. Abraham Union Middle/High School, has been named to the newly created FT position of PBL Coach/Coordinator at Mt. Abe.

Andrew Jones, 2015 Rowland Fellow, Mt Abraham Union MIddle/High School, has been named Director of Curriculum for the Mill River Unified School District

Sarah Kiefer, 2009 Fellow and former School-Based Clinician at Fair Haven Union High School is now District School Psychologist at Windham Central Supervisory Union in 2016.

Jennifer Kravitz, 2012 Fellow and formerly a social studies teacher at Rutland High School was appointed as principal of Cornwall School in 2015.

Lori Lisai, 2015 Fellow and former Language Arts Teacher at Lamoille Union Middle/High School is now their Technology Integrationist in 2016.

Gabrielle Marquette, 2015 Fellow and former Special Educator at Enosburg Falls High School is now their Innovation Coach in 2016.

Mike Martin, 2009 Fellow and Senior Rowland Associate, former teacher at Champlain Valley Union High School, is currently the Director of Curriculum and Technology in the Montpelier School District. Mike has recently received his doctoral degree from The University of Vermont (UVM)

Mike McRaith, 2013 Fellow, formerly a Guidance Counselor at Enosburg Falls High School and principal of Enosburg Falls Middle School is now principal of Montpelier High School.

Laura Mina, 2012 Fellow and librarian at Mt. Abraham Union High School has relocated to Charleston, SC, where she works in their public library system.

Lauren Parren, 2012 Fellow and the Foundation's Associate for Social Media, was formerly the technology specialist at Mt. Abraham Union High School is now the Technology Integrationist at South Burlington High School.

Jeanie Phillips, 2014 Rowland Fellow, Green Mountain Union High School, will be taking a position with The Tarrant Institute as a Professional Development Coordinator.

Adam Rosenberg, 2010 Fellow, teacher and school improvement coach at Rutland High School, served for three years as principal at Proctor High School. In 2015 he was appointed Director of Curriculum & Instruction for Rutland Central Supervisory Union.

Caitlin Steele, 2009 Fellow, formerly at Otter Valley Union High School, has been appointed Director of Teaching and Learning at Addison Central Supervisory Union in 2016.

Mary Whalen, 2010 Fellow, social studies teacher at Twinfield Union School has been named Director of UP for Learning (formerly YATST) which promotes authentic student voice in the school transformation process.


© The Rowland Foundation All Rights Reserved